Wednesday 26, February 2020

AFA page 17

AFA page 15

AFA page 14
AFA page 18
AFA page 16

Air Force Association

The Air Force Association (AFA) is a non-profit, independent, professional military and aerospace education association promoting public understanding of aerospace power and the pivotal role it plays in the security of the nation. AFA publishes Air Force Magazine, conducts national symposia and disseminates information through outreach programs. It sponsors professional development seminars and recognizes excellence in the education and aerospace fields through national awards programs. AFA presents scholarships and grants to Air Force active duty, Air National Guard and Air Force Reserve members and their dependents; and awards educator grants to promote science and math education at the elementary and secondary school level. Additionally, AFA publishes a wide range of materials on

AFA's mission is to promote a dominant United States Air Force and a strong national defense, and to honor Airmen and our Air Force Heritage. To accomplish this, we:
  • EDUCATE the public on the critical need for unmatched aerospace power and a technically superior workforce to ensure U.S. national security;
  • ADVOCATE for aerospace power and STEM education; and
  • SUPPORT the total Air Force family, and promote aerospace education.
AFA is led by volunteer leaders at the national, state and local levels. AFA's state organizations and more than 230 chapters hold elections and conduct programs to increase public understanding of key national security issues in their communities. Programs range from luncheon and dinner activities to symposia and legislative roundtables with Congressional leaders.

National officers and directors are elected by convention delegates attending the national convention in September. Delegates are chosen at the state and chapter levels to represent AFA's varied membership and vote on AFA policies. When finally adopted at the convention, AFA policy takes the form of an overall "Statement of Policy" and "Top Issues."

AFA's leadership team for 2017-2018:
  • F. Whitten Peters, Chairman of the Board;
  • Gavin MacAloon, Vice Chairman of the Board, Field Operations;
  • Richard Bundy, Vice Chairman of the Board, Aerospace Education;
  • John T. Brock, Secretary;
  • Steve Lundgren, Treasurer.
Further, AFA is divided into 3 geographic areas, comprised of 14 regions, each led by a Region President.

Central Geographic Area:
  • Great Lakes Region (Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio) - Paul Lyons
  • Midwest Region (Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska) - Russell Klatt
  • North Central Region (Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin) - Ron Mielke
  • South Central Region (Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee) - Russell Lewey
  • Texoma Region (Oklahoma, Texas) - Gary Copsey
East Geographic Area:
  • Central East Region (Maryland, Delaware, District of Columbia, Virginia, West Virginia) - Tyler Johnson
  • Florida Region (Florida, Puerto Rico) - Bill Yucuis
  • New England Region (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont) - Kevin Grady
  • Northeast Region (New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania) - Maxine Rauch
  • Southeast Region (Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina) - John Allen
West Geographic Area:
  • Far West Region (California, Hawaii, Guam) - Wayne Kauffman
  • Northwest Region (Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington) - William Striegel
  • Rocky Mountain Region (Colorado, Utah, Wyoming) - Bob George
  • Southwest Region (Arizona, Nevada, New Mexico) - John Toohey
Day-to-day business is carried out by a headquarters staff in Arlington, Virginia.


Community Partner Spotlight
USI logo

Regent logo

Hampton convention logo 150px

Comfort inn logo 150px

Courtyard marriott logo

Embassy suites

Green turtle logo


GSD logo 150px

Airman for life logo

©Copyright 2020 Langley Chapter Air Force Association All Rights Reserved
P.O. Box 7370, Riverdale Station
Hampton VA 23666

For more information feel free to Contact Us